top of page
Spring Concert 2024
Spring Concert 2024

Sat, 09 Mar



Spring Concert 2024

MacMillan - Larghetto Tchaikovsky - Violin Concerto Nielsen - Symphony No. 1 Conductor: Andres Kaljuste Soloist: Hans Christian Aavik

Time & Location

09 Mar 2024, 19:45 – 21:45

Bristol, Great George St, Bristol BS1 5RR, UK

About the event

An evening of sound spectrums – from the celestial world of MacMillan, through the sparkle of Tchaikovsky to the energy of Nielsen.

Hans Christian Aavik won the 2022 Carl Nielsen Violin Competition. He joins fellow Estonian, Andres Kaljuste, in a programme which combines Tchaikovsky’s virtuosic violin concerto with Nielsen’s innovative  1st Symphony.  Nielsen was a violinist and played in the 2nd violins in the  first performance of his symphony in 1894!

James MacMillan’s Larghetto, which opens the concert, is based on his a cappella choral work Miserere. Using the full range of orchestral colours MacMillan creates a characteristically ethereal world which still somehow retains the overtones of a choir.

Listen to Hans in the new Deutsche Grammophon landmark series “Rising Stars” on STAGE+ and is featured in the Deutsche Grammophon “Musical Moments” series – listen.

Andres is described by maestro Paavo Järvi as “blessed with trademark instinctive musicianship, a sensitive approach to sound and an ability to form an easy and natural bond with orchestral musicians”. See him in action with BHCO and Maria Włoszczowska .

Share this event

bottom of page